Start: September 8, 2023
2:00 pm
End: September 8, 2023
2:00 pm

Event Venue

the source, thurles

GPS: 52.678863, -7.809551199999999

Jazz guitarists Libor Smoldas (Czech), Hugh Buckley (Ireland) and Nigel Clark (Scotland) present their new European guitar trio, showcasing their individual and collective creative talents and transcendent mastery of the instrument. The new trio format create a space enabling each guitarist to debut original compositions, as well as breathe new life into established masterpieces of the jazz tradition.

Libor Smoldas is a Prague based jazz guitarist. Besides top Czech and European musicians he has worked and recorded with international stars such as George Mraz, Jeff Ballard, Bobby Watson, Adam Nussbaum and James Morrison. He has performed concerts on four continents, touring the USA and Australia annually. Libor has been hailed as one of the best jazz guitarists in Europe and the leading Czech jazz musician of his generation.

Hugh Buckley is a Dublin born and based, guitarist, composer, arranger, educator and author, performing throughout Europe, the USA, Argentina and China and has performed with Brad Mehldau, Van Morrison, Louis Stewart, Jim Mullen, Peter Bernstein, Larry Coryell and John Faddis among many others. He has also collaborated with artists from other disciplines, including visual artist the late Gerald Davis and Spanish painter Juan O’Perez, and in a spoken word improv setting with author Roddy Doyle and poet/musician/journalist Eamon Carr.

Scotsman Nigel Clark was the guitarist and arranger with eighties chart band Hue & Cry before going on to an illustrious career playing, recording and touring the world from Shanghai to L.A. A founding member of the Scottish Guitar Quartet, Russian Gypsy trio Koshka and the Netherlands based Tim Kliphuis Trio he has also worked with Moya Brennan of Clannad, soul superstar Gloria Gaynor, jazz singer Carol Kidd, European guitarists Jan Akkerman and Philip Catherine and jazz legends Steve Swallow and Carla Bley.

Fees & Tickets
10.00 €